Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
Lifetime Achievement and Leadership Awards
Share |


Nominations are now being accepted for the John E. Hughes Award for Entrepreneurial Advocacy, the Max S. Wortman, Jr. Award for Lifetime Achievement in Entrepreneurship, and the Entrepreneurship Educator of the Year Award. These three awards provide USASBE’s highest recognition to individuals who have demonstrated clearly a significant leadership role in promoting entrepreneurship through their work and contributions to the field.

Max S. Wortman, Jr. / USASBE Lifetime Achievement Award for Entrepreneurship

Established in 2004, The Max S. Wortman, Jr. /USASBE Lifetime Achievement Award for Entrepreneurship was instituted on the occasion of the 22nd anniversary of the founding of the United States Association for Small Business and Entrepreneurship (USASBE). The award is presented to a worthy recipient in recognition for a lifetime of entrepreneurial achievement that encompasses the ideals of entrepreneurial activity. Eligibility extends both to those whose life’s pursuits supported and advocated entrepreneurial ideals as well as those who have pursued a lifetime of successful venture creation. The Awards Committee shall consider the originality, depth, breadth and impact of the entire body of the nominees'
entrepreneurial pursuits and impact.


Nominee Criteria

  • All nominees shall have risen to the highest level of entrepreneurial achievement in either academia or practice throughout the nominee’s lifetime.
  • Nominees should be an individual or organization who (which) has consistently demonstrated an unwavering drive, dedication, and determination for pursuing entrepreneurism in education, commerce, and/or other venues.
  • Candidates should have devoted a lifetime of commitment to individual, organizational, and/or social entrepreneurship.
  • Nominees need not have founded a company (or organization) and may come from the corporate world or any level of academia.
  • Organizations, both profit and non-profit, as well as individuals are eligible for this award.
  • Recipient must be present at the USASBE Annual Meeting to receive the award. Exceptions may be made for reasons of health. This award may be made posthumously.
  • Award may not be made every year.
  • Evidence of a lifetime in the pursuit of the highest ideals of entrepreneurism: (Please provide a 600 word assessment of the nominee that demonstrates the criteria outlined above). Names, addresses and contact information of two or three references who would be willing to write a letter of support. In recognition of the nominee’s accomplishments, this requirement may be waived by the review committee.

See past winnersSubmit your nomination here.


USASBE Entrepreneurship Educator of the Year

The Entrepreneurship Educator of the Year is given to an individual who has provided distinguished leadership over a number of years within the field of entrepreneurship education. Winners will typically have contributed substantive advancements to the way in which scholars think about and approach entrepreneurship teaching and learning.

Nominee Criteria
  • Nominees should have a distinguished record over a number of years of contributing to the way entrepreneurship is taught and learned.
  • Candidates should have contributed significant innovations to curriculum design, course development, teaching methodologies, and/or pedagogical tools and approaches.
  • Nominees should be noted for their excellence in the classroom.
  • Consideration is given to the individuals reputation for mentoring and working with students.
  • The recipient must be present at the USASBE Annual Meeting to receive the award.
  • Award may not be made every year.

See past winnersSubmit your nomination here.



John E. Hughes Award for Entrepreneurial Achievement

John E. Hughes was born in February, 1927; dropped out of high school in 1944, volunteered for military service in World War II, serving with the parachute infantry. After leaving the service, he obtained a high school GED in 1947, and went on to receive his C.P.A. certificate, from the University of Illinois in 1957. In 1968, he founded his own C.P.A.  firm.  After selling his firm, he went on to be an owner and CEO at Archibald/Fannie May Candy Shops, Inc. from 1981 through 1991, selling his interest in October 1991. Mr. Hughes is passionate about self-employment and its positive impact on individuals and communities, which is why this award was established in his name supported by the Coleman Foundation where Mr. Hughes is Board Chairman Emeritus.


Newly established in 2018, The John E. Hughes Award for Entrepreneurial Achievement recognizes an individual who, through significant and sustained entrepreneurial initiatives, has demonstrated a unique ability to accept and manage risk, exercise personal control, and acquire personal reward. The recipients should be an entrepreneur (new venture, corporate, and/or social) that is committed to entrepreneurship education and has demonstrated impact on the field of entrepreneurship, community leadership and philanthropic giving. 

Nominee Criteria
  • Nominees should be an individual who has used business ownership to make a positive contribution to the world. Business ownership can be through startup or being a CEO of an existing organization.
  • Candidates should demonstrate a commitment to entrepreneurship education at any level, and their impact on entrepreneurship education will be considered a plus.
  • Nominees should exhibit philanthropic achievement recognizing the importance of "paying it forward" to help others (including organizations) positively impact their community.
  • Recipients must be present at the USASBE annual meeting to receive the award. The award may not be given every year.

See past winners | Submit your nomination here.



USASBE Ray Smilor Volunteer of the Year


The Ray Smilor Volunteer of the Year is given to an individual who has provided exceptional service to USASBE over the last year. Nominations should be sent directly to the USASBE Interim Executive Director, Julie Shields at


See past winners here.

Nominations for the 2019 awards are due no later than August 30, 2018.



more Calendar

1/23/2019 » 1/27/2019
USASBE 2019- St. Pete Beach, FL

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal