Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In
Entrepreneurship Achievement and Advocacy
Share |

The following awards are presented during the Association’s conference, held annually in January, to individuals/organizations who have exhibited outstanding achievement in the field of entrepreneurship, and demonstrated strong support and advocacy of entrepreneurial advancement.


Max S. Wortman, Jr. Award for Lifetime Achievement in Entrepreneurship
Award was instituted on the occasion of the 22nd anniversary of the founding of the United States Association for Small Business and Entrepreneurship (USASBE). This award is presented in recognition of a lifetime in entrepreneurial achievement that encompasses the ideals of entrepreneurial activity – through new venturing, corporate venturing, or social venturing. Eligibility extends to both those who have pursued a lifetime of successful venture creation as well as those whose life’s pursuits supported and advocated entrepreneurial ideals.

See Past Winners here.  


Download Nomination information here.

John E. Hughes Award for Entrepreneurial Advocacy
Award named after its first recipient John E. Hughes. recognizes an individual who has consistently over time contributed encouragement; support; physical, and/or intellectual resources; time; talent and/or skills; development; and/or financial contribution to further the field of entrepreneurship and support structures that nurture emerging and practicing business owners. These individuals actively support entrepreneurship in education, practice, and/or other venues. Nominees need not have founded a company (or organization) and may come from the corporate world or any level of academia.

See Past Winners here. 


Download Nomination information here. 

Corporate Entrepreneur of the Year
Award recognizes an individual that exemplifies the spirit of entrepreneurship through entrepreneurial achievement and serves as a model of the true entrepreneur through practical application. See Past Winners here.

Woman/Minority Entrepreneur of the Year
Award recognizes an individual woman or minority whose actions and achievements, within an entrepreneurial environment, exemplifies the true entrepreneurship and serves as a model to others. See Past Winners here.

USASBE Entrepreneurship Educator of the Year
Award is given to an individual who has provided distinguished leadership over a number of years within the field of entrepreneurship education. Winners will typically have contributed substantive advancements to the way in which scholars think about and approach entrepreneurship teaching and learning.

See Past Winners here. 


Download nomination information here.  

For additional information, contact:


Alex DeNoble, San Diego State University

USASBE Immediate Past President and Chair of the Nominations Committee



more Calendar

9/22/2016 » 9/25/2016
Experiential Classroom

1/19/2017 » 1/22/2017
USASBE 2017 - Philadelphia, PA

Membership Management Software Powered by®  ::  Legal